Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsNew England Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News
National Women's Soccer League


January 25, 2017
D'Angelo, Sinclair on NWSL teams' list

The NWSL announced 10 Canadian Women's National Team players, including goalkeeper Sabrina D’Angelo, who helped the Western New York Flash capture last year’s title, will be subsidized this season.

"We are very appreciative of and excited by Canada Soccer's continued support of the league as well as the meaningful impact their players are having on and off the field," NWSL commissioner Jeff Plush said. "It is also important for the sustained growth of our league to have the top players from around the world."

D’Angelo made three saves as the final was decided with a penalty kick decision over the Washington Spirit, the Flash becoming the North Carolina Courage after the season.

Also on the list in Portland’s Christine Sinclair, Canada captain and all-time leading scorer (165 goals).

Forward Nichelle Prince and goalkeeper Kailen Sheridan were made available for selection in the NWSL College Draft. Sheridan (Clemson University) was selected No. 23 overall by Sky Blue FC and Prince (Ohio State) was selected No. 28 overall by the Houston Dash. Josée Belanger and Kaylyn Kyle will be available in the Distribution Draft.

Canadian subsidized players for the 2017 NWSL season:
• Boston Breakers: Allysha Chapman
• Chicago Red Stars: None
• Houston Dash: Janine Beckie, Nichelle Prince
• FC Kansas City: Desiree Scott
• North Carolina Courage: Sabrina D'Angelo
• Orlando Pride: None
• Portland Thorns FC: Christine Sinclair
• Seattle Reign FC: Diana Matheson
• Sky Blue FC: Kailen Sheridan
• Washington Spirit: Stephanie Labbé, Shelina Zadorsky

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC. All Rights Reserved