Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsNew England Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


December 14, 2014
America take the title

America 3, Tigres 0 (America wins 3-1 on aggregate)
Club America capped their wire-to-wire domination of the Liga Mx Apertura with a championship-clinching 3-0 win over Tigres Sunday at Estadio Azteca.

The Aguilas took the title 3-1 on aggregate after dropping the championship series opener 1-0 to UANL on Thursday. It was their twelfth league championship, making America the most successful club in the professional era of Mexican soccer.

Michael Arroyo opened Sunday's scoring in the 36th minute, stealing the ball and bringing it three-quarters the length of the field before beating goalkeeper Nahuel Guzman to counter Joffre Guerron's 64th-minute strike in the first leg of the finals. Pablo Aguilar headed home the clincher off a free kick in the 61st minute, and Tigres took themselves out of the match within the next 11 minutes, with straight red cards to Hernan Burbano (63rd), Damian Alvarez (67th) and Guzman (72nd). America also finished shorthanded, after Luis Mendoza drew a red card in the 78th minute, shortly after Oribe Peralta scored on a volley for the Aguilas' third goal.

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC. All Rights Reserved