Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsNew England Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


July 17, 2016
Revolution's Farrell named to MLS team

NEW YORK -- New England Revolution defender Andrew Farrell has been selected to play in the MLS All-Star Game, the league announced Sunday.

The MLS team will meet Arsenal FC in the AT&T MLS All-Star Game at Avaya Stadium in San Jose, Calif., at 4:30 p.m. PT July 28 (ESPN, UniMás, UDN, TSN, RDS).

Farrell, in his fourth MLS season, is one of three Revolution players to appear in every match this season. Farrell, 24, has made 20 appearances, playing center back and right back, this season. Farrell has twice been named to MLS Team of the Week bench (Week Four at New York City FC and Week 15 at Vancouver Whitecaps).

Farrell, the first overall selection in the 2013 MLS draft, played at the University of Louisville. Farrell has appeared in 116 (115 starts) of 122 league matches, plus seven of the Revolution’s eight postseason matches since 2013.

The 26-man roster, highlighted by league-leading scorer David Villa, 2015 MVP Sebastian Giovinco and U.S. national team forward Clint Dempsey, is made up of 24 players chosen by coach Dominic Kinnear, based on fan and player voting, plus two Commissioner’s picks. The roster includes representation from 19 teams, with 16 All-Star newcomers and 10 All-Star veterans.

MLS All-Star Game Roster

• GK: David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)

• D: Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact), Andrew Farrell (New England Revolution), Liam Ridgewell (Portland Timbers), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union), Brandon Vincent (Chicago Fire), Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)

• MF: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Mauro Diaz (FC Dallas), Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Jermaine Jones (Colorado Rapids), Kaká (Orlando City SC), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Andrea Pirlo (New York City FC), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC)

• F: Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Didier Drogba (Montreal Impact), Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC), Cyle Larin (Orlando City SC), Ignacio Piatti (Montreal Impact), David Villa (New York City FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC. All Rights Reserved