Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsNew England Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


October 28, 2014
Klinsmann, Wambach up for FIFA awards

U.S. Men's National Team head coach Jurgen Klinsmann and striker Abby Wambach are in the running for FIFA's year-end awards.

Klinsmann has been named to the 10-man shortlist for FIFA World Coach of the Year, while Wambach is a finalist for Women's World Player of the Year. The three finalists for the awards will be announced on Dec. 1, and the winner will be revealed at the FIFA Ballon d'Or in Zurich on Jan. 12.

Klinsmann guided the USA through the "Group of Death" at the World Cup in Brazil. The Americans earned a victory against Ghana and a draw with Portugal to join fellow Group G side Germany, which defeated the USA, in the Round of 16. Germany went on to win the tournament, the USA was eliminated in that round by Belgium in extra time, 2-1.

The German-born Klinsmann has a 33-13-11 record since becoming the 35th coach of the U.S. MNT on July 29, 2011. He is third on the U.S. MNT's all-time coaching win list. The USA has posted a 6-3-4 record in 2014. The former Germany striker was finished third in voting for FIFA World Player of the Year in 1995.

On Friday, FIFA announced its shortlist for FIFA Women's World Player of the Year. Wambach, the 2012 FIFA women's player of the year, is one of 10 players in contention for this year's honor. Her career total of 177 goals scored i international competition si the highest among men or women.

FIFA coach of the year shortlist

Carlo Ancelotti (Italy/Real Madrid), Antonio Conte (Italy/Juventus/Italy national team), Pep Guardiola (Spain/Bayern Munich), Jurgen Klinsmann (Germany/USA national team), Joachim Loew (Germany/Germany national team), Jose Mourinho (Portugal/Chelsea), Manuel Pellegrini (Chile/Manchester City), Alejandro Sabella (Argentina/Argentina national team), Diego Simeone (Argentina/Atletico Madrid), Louis van Gaal (Netherlands/Netherlands national team/Manchester United)

FIFA women's player of the year shortlist

Nadine Angerer (Germany), Veronica Boquete (Spain), Nilla Fischer (Sweden), Nahomi Kawasumi (Japan), Nadine Kessler (Germany), Marta (Brazil), Aya Miyama (Japan), Louisa Necib (France), Lotta Schelin (Sweden), Abby Wambach (USA)

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC. All Rights Reserved