Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsNew England Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


December 18, 2015
Michael Bradley named Fútbol de Primera's player of year

Michael Bradley enjoyed a stellar year for the U.S. national team.
Michael Bradley enjoyed a stellar year for the U.S. national team.
Linda Cuttone/Sports Vue Images
SAN FRANCISCO– U.S. national team and Toronto FC midfielder Michael Bradley has won the 2015 Player of the Year Award, presented by Fútbol de Primera, it was announced Friday.

The award was chosen by journalists from across the nation from all platforms.

This was the first time the 28-year-old Bradley won the award that is given to an men's national team member.

He received 176 points, while Clint Dempsey (32) finished second with 145 points and Jozy Altidore (26) placed third with 70.

A player receives three points for each first-place vote, two points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote. To be eligible, a player must have played in a minimum of three games for the national team during the calendar year.

Bradley earned 18 caps this year and he has consistently been one of the best players on the team since his debut in 2006.
This was the fourth time he has been a finalist for the award.

Bradley, who has made 109 international appearances scored three goals in 2015.

He started his professional career in 2004 with the MetroStars. In 2006 he moved to The Netherlands to play with the Heerenveen. In 2008 Bradley played with Borussia Monchengladbach in Germany and in 2011 he was loaned to Aston Villa (England). He moved to Italy where he played with Chievo (2011-2012) and with Roma (2012-2014).

The award has honored 15 players in its 25-year history.

In reverse order, the entire list of winners:

Michael Bradley (2015), Tim Howard (2014), Jozy Altidore (2013), Clint Dempsey (2012, 2011 and 2006), Landon Donovan (2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2004, 2003 and 2002), , Kasey Keller (2005, 1999), Earnie Stewart (2001), Claudio Reyna (2000), Cobi Jones (1998), Eddie Pope (1997), Eric Wynalda (1996, 1992), Alexi Lalas (1995), Marcelo Balboa (1994), Thomas Dooley (1993) and Hugo Perez (1991).
Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC. All Rights Reserved