Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsNew England Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


October 20, 2009
Donovan captures Honda Award again

Landon Donovan took first,  Tim Howard and Jozy Altidore.
Landon Donovan took first, Tim Howard and Jozy Altidore.
Linda Cuttone/Sports Vue Images
LOS ANGELES -- U.S. National Team forward Landon Donovan won the Honda Player of the Year Award Tuesday, becoming the only six-time winner given to the best U.S. men's international player.

For the last 19 years, the award has honored the best player on the U.S. National Team as chosen by the American sports media. Having earned six out of nine awards during the 2000s, Donovan became the Honda player of the decade.

This year, 221 journalists across the nation selected Donovan. He accrued 424 points. Former MetroStars goalkeeper Tim Howard, now with Everton, finished second with 267 points and ex-Red Bulls forward Jozy Altidore, on loan to Hull City FC, was third with 175 points.

A player receives three points for each first-place vote, two points for each second-place vote, and one point for each third-place vote. To be eligible for the player of the year award, a player must play in a minimum of three games for the U.S. National Team during the calendar year.

Donovan's history with the award features a series of unprecedented feats. With his first win in 2002, Donovan became the youngest award winner. Continuing to win the honor for the next two years, Donovan was the only player to receive the award three times in the row. Donovan, 27, repeated this record winning in 2007, 2008 and 2009.

The Los Angeles Galaxy midfielder was presented with a new Honda Insight during the annual award luncheon, held at The Biltmore Hotel.

Donovan is the all-time goalscorer for the U.S. National Team, scoring 42 goals in 120 matches.

Created by Fútbol de Primera and sponsored by American Honda Motor Co., Inc., the Honda player of the year award has honored 12 players in its 19-year history: Donovan (2009, 2008, 2007, 2004, 2003 and 2002), Clint Dempsey (2006), Kasey Keller (2005, 1999), Earnie Stewart (2001), Claudio Reyna (2000), Cobi Jones (1998), Eddie Pope (1997), Eric Wynalda (1996, 1992), Alexi Lalas (1995), Marcelo Balboa (1994), Thomas Dooley (1993) and Hugo Perez (1991).

In 2000 Wynalda was named as the first player of the decade for his achievements with the National Team during the 1990s.

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC. All Rights Reserved