Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsNew England Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


January 5, 2011
Donovan named U.S. top player 7th time

Landon Donovan was a runaway winner, with Michael Bradley taking second and Clint Dempsey third.
Landon Donovan was a runaway winner, with Michael Bradley taking second and Clint Dempsey third.
Linda Cuttone/Sports Vue Images
SAN FRANCISCO – U.S. National Team midfielder Landon Donovan won the 2010 U.S. player of the year award presented by Futbol de Primera for a record seventh time Wednesday.

Almost 200 U.S. journalists selected Donovan earned 403 points. Midfielder Michael Bradley, finished second with 169 points and forward Clint Dempsey placed third with 157 points. A player receives three points for each first-place vote, two points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote.

To be eligible for the award, a player must play in a minimum of three games for the U.S. National Team during the calendar year.

Donovan’s history with the award features a series of unprecedented feats. With his first win in 2002, Donovan became the youngest award winner. Continuing to win the honor for the next two years, Donovan was the only player to receive the award three times in a row. Donovan, 28, also won in 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2010.

Donovan is the all-time goalscorer for the U.S. National Team, connecting for 45 goals in 128 games.

Created by Fútbol de Primera , the player of the tear Award has honored 12 players in its 20 year history: Donovan (2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2004, 2003 and 2002), Clint Dempsey (2006), Kasey Keller (2005, 1999), Earnie Stewart (2001), Claudio Reyna (2000), Cobi Jones (1998), Eddie Pope (1997), Eric Wynalda (1996, 1992), Alexi Lalas (1995), Marcelo Balboa (1994), Thomas Dooley (1993) and Hugo Perez (1991).

In 2000, Wynalda was named as the first player of the decade for his U.S. National Team accomplishments during the 1990s, being the only other player to win the award twice.

Donovan became the the second player of the decade for his illustrious pro career from 2000-2010.

Futbol de Primera’s player of the year award has been sponsored by Honda Motor Company Inc. for two decades.

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC. All Rights Reserved