Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsNew England Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


July 24, 2014
CONCACAF Women's Tournament in 4 MLS stadia

CHICAGO - The 2014 CONCACAF Women's Championship, which will qualify three teams for the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup in Canada, will be played in four MLS stadiums in the United States, in Kansas City, Kan., Bridgeview, Ill., Washington, D.C. and Chester, Pa.

The tournament, which will take place from Oct. 15-26, will feature eight countries divided into two groups of four with the top two finishers in each group after round-robin play moving on to the semifinals. Each national team, including the USA, will play one match in each of the three first-round venues. Sporting Park in Kansas City, Toyota Park in Bridgeview, and RFK Stadium in D.C., will each host two doubleheaders.

PPL Park in Chester will host the semifinal matches on Oct. 24, along with the third-place match and championship game on Oct. 26. The two finalists and the winner of the third-place match will qualify directly for the Women's World Cup. The fourth-place team will enter a playoff with a South American country for a finals berth. As host of the 2015 World Cup, Canada is ensured of a berth.

"We are honored to serve as the local organizing committee for this tournament as we continue to support and grow women's soccer in this region on a large scale," said U.S. Soccer President Sunil Gulati. "The second season of the NWSL has been exciting to follow, and this tournament provides fans with another opportunity to see some of the best women's soccer players in the world compete on the international level. With the tremendous success and popularity of the men's World Cup here in the United States this summer, we are looking forward to carrying that momentum right through to the Women's World Cup in Canada and beyond."

The tournament begins at Sporting Park on Oct. 15 with the first two matches of Group A followed by the first two matches of Group B on Oct. 16. All eight teams will then move to Toyota Park where the Group A doubleheader matches will take place on Oct. 17 and Group B matches on Oct. 18. The teams will finish first-round play at RFK Stadium with the Group A doubleheader games taking place on Oct. 20 and Group B on Oct. 21.

The top two finishers in each group will cross over for the semifinal matches at PPL Park, with the Group A winner playing the Group B runner-up and vice versa.

The 2014 CONCACAF Women's Championship will feature the USA, Mexico, Costa Rica, Guatemala and the four semifinalists in the final round of the CFU Women's Caribbean Cup, which will take place Aug. 19-26 in Trinidad & Tobago. The final tournament schedule and kickoff times will be set at the Final Draw on Sept. 5 in Miami.

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC. All Rights Reserved