Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsNew England Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


December 2, 2016
Ellis, Lloyd on FIFA short lists for top coach, player

U.S. Women's National Team coach Jill Ellis and co-captain Carli Lloyd have been named to short lists for FIFA honors they won last year.

Ellis, reigning Women's Coach of the Year, has been nominated along with Silvia Neid, who guided Germany to the Olympic Games gold medal, and former U.S. coach Pia Sundhage of Sweden. Lloyd, reigning Women's Player of the Year, is competing with Germany’s Melanie Behringer and five-time winner Marta of Brazil.

Ellis guided the U.S. to a 22-0-3 record, the third time the team has gone undefeated in 10-plus games in a calendar year, a penalty kick shootout loss to Sweden in the Olympic Games quarterfinals registered as a draw. Ellis, the eighth coach in U.S. history, earned her 50th win with the WNT against Costa Rica July 22 and has a 58-3-13 record. The U.S. has won four tournaments under Ellis: the 2015 Algarve Cup, the 2015 Women's World Cup, the 2016 CONCACAF Olympic qualifying championship and the 2016 SheBelieves Cup. After the 2016 Olympics, Ellis began preparing for 2019 Women's World Cup qualifying.

Lloyd scored twice in the Olympics, against New Zealand and France, and had an assist, becoming the only American to score multiple goals in three Olympics ('08,'12,'16). Lloyd has scored eight Olympic goals, second to Abby Wambach's U.S. mark of 10.

Lloyd had three multiple-goal games this year. Lloyd recorded her seventh international hat trick and added four assists, becoming the first U.S. player to have three goals and four assists in a WNT match, in a game against Thailand in September.

Lloyd has totaled 96 goals, four shy of becoming the sixth U.S. player to score 100 goals. Lloyd has scored 60 goals in the last four-plus years.

Mia Hamm (2001 and ’02) and Wambach (2012) are the only other Americans to have been named FIFA Women's Player of the Year.

Finalists for the FIFA Men's Player of the Year Award are Antoine Griezmann (France/Atletico Madrid), Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barcelona) and Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid). Finalists for FIFA Men’s Coach of the Year are Claudio Ranieri (Leicester City), Fernando Santos (Portugal) and Zinédine Zidane (Real Madrid).

The awards, along with the FIFA Puskás Award for best goal, the FIFA Fair Play Award and the FIFA Fan Award, will be presented at The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony at the Zurich TPC Studios in Switzerland January 9.

The ceremony will be streamed live on and FIFA on YouTube. The winners will be determined through a process in which 50 percent is based on votes of national team captains and coaches and the rest split between online fan voting and media voting.

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC. All Rights Reserved