Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsNew England Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


August 12, 2010
U.S. in a group with Costa Rica, Haiti, Guatemala; Host is Mexico

CONCACAF announced the groups for the CONCACAF Women’s World Cup qualifying 2010-Mexico tournament on Thursday, setting the early pairings for the Oct. 28-Nov. 8 event in Cancun and Playa del Carmen.

Host Mexico, Canada, Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana comprise Group A that will play in Estadio Beto Ávila in Cancún, while Group B with the United States, Costa Rica, Haiti and Guatemala will face off in Estadio Unidad Deportiva in Playa del Carmen.

Estadio Unidad Deportiva is home to soccer team Inter Playa del Carmen in Mexico’s Third Division, while the Estadio Beto Avila is the regular venue for Mexican baseball team the Quintana Roo Tigres.

“We are thrilled that Mexico will serve as the host for the upcoming CONCACAF Women’s World Cup Qualifying tournament,” CONCACAF general secretary Chuck Blazer said in a statement. “There’s no doubt that Cancun and Playa del Carmen will serve as a fantastic setting as our top women’s teams top seek to qualify for the World Cup.”

The competition, formerly known as the CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup, offers two full berths to the 2011 Women’s World Cup in Germany for the champion and runner-up. The third place team will face the fifth-place European finisher for a WWC spot.

The CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup, which began in 2000, was won by the United States in its inaugural edition as well as in 2002 and 2006. Before that, the confederation hosted the CONCACAF Women’s Championship starting in 1991. The U.S. won the competition in 1991, 1993 and 1994 before Canada lifted the trophy in 1998 when the Americans qualified for the 1999 FIFA Women’s World Cup automatically as hosts.

The match dates and times for the CONCACAF Women’s World Cup qualifying will be announced in the near future.

The WWC will be held in Germany next summer.


Trinidad & Tobago

United States
Costa Rica

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC. All Rights Reserved