Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsNew England Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


October 1, 2010
CONCACAF sets qualifying schedule

NEW YORK – The three-time defending champion United States will open the CONCACAF Women’s World Cup Qualifying tournament against Haiti in Playa del Carmen on October 28, immediately after Costa Rica takes on Guatemala.

The full schedule for the October 28-November 8 championship in Cancun and Playa del Carmen was unveiled Friday with host Mexico beginning its campaign against Guyana on October 29, immediately after Trinidad & Tobago faces 2006 runner-up Canada.

The group stage will conclude on November 2 with semifinals between the group winners facing the runners-up from the opposite group three days later, and the championship and third-place matches on November 8.

Besides crowning the eighth CONCACAF women’s champion, the eight-team event also will qualify two sides directly for next year’s Women’s World Cup in Germany June 26-July 17. The third-place finisher will advance to a playoff against Europe’s fifth-best team for a third berth.

This will be only the second time the CONCACAF women’s championship has been staged outside of the United States or Canada, and first since the inaugural event in Haiti in 1991.

CONCACAF Women’s World Cup Qualifying
All Times U.S. Eastern
Group A:
Canada, Mexico, Trinidad & Tobago, Guyana
Group B:
United States, Costa Rica, Haiti, Guatemala
Thursday, October 28
At Playa del Carmen

Costa Rica vs. Guatemala, 6 p.m.
United States vs. Haiti, 8:30 p.m.
Friday, October 29
At Cancun

Trinidad & Tobago vs. Canada, 6 p.m.
Mexico vs. Guyana, 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, October 30
At Playa del Carmen

Haiti vs. Costa Rica, 6 p.m.
United States vs. Guatemala, 8:30 p.m.
Sunday, October 31
At Cancun

Canada vs. Guyana, 7 p.m.
Mexico vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 9:30 p.m.
Monday, November 1
At Playa del Carmen

Guatemala vs. Haiti, 7 p.m.
United States vs. Costa Rica, 9:30 p.m.
Tuesday, November 2
At Cancun

Guyana vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 7 p.m.
Mexico vs. Canada, 9:30 p.m.
Friday, November 5
At Cancun

Group A winner vs. Group B runner-up, 7 p.m.
Group B winner vs. Group A runner-up, 10 p.m.
Monday, November 8
At Cancun

Semifinal losers, 6 p.m.
Semifinal winners, 9 p.m.

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC. All Rights Reserved