Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsNew England Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


May 13, 2012
Kristine Lilly honored by USOC

Kristine Lilly will be inducted into the USOC Hall of Fame.
Kristine Lilly will be inducted into the USOC Hall of Fame.
Linda Cuttone/Sports Vue Images
DALLAS---Former United States Women's National Team midfielder Kristine Lilly is a part of the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame class of 2012.

Lilly, 40, performed on two Olympic gold-medal winning sides (1996 and 2004) and a silver-medal team (2000).

She has played more international matches (352) than any man or woman on the planet, scoring 130 goals. Lilly also participated in five Women's World Cups, winning twice (1991 and 1999) and finishing third three times (1995, 2003 and 2007).

Lilly, who starred at the University of North Carolina, was a member of the original Boston Breakers in the Womenís United Soccer Association from 2001 to 2003, and returned to the team when Womenís Professional Soccer was launched in 2009, twice being named to the league all-star team. The team retired her number last season.

Others in the class of 2012 include: Gail Devers (track & field), Jean Driscoll (Paralympic track & field), Gary Hall, Jr. (swimming), Lisa Fernandez (softball), Dan O'Brien (track & field), Jenny Thompson (swimming), the 2004 U.S. Olympic Women's Softball Team, Ed Temple (coach - track & field), James Connolly (veteran - track & field) and Ted Stevens (special contributor).

The Class of 2012 was determined by a voting process that includes Olympians, Paralympians, members of the Olympic Family and a public voting element. The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame is one of the only national sports halls of fame that includes fan voting as part of its selection process. This year more than 100,000 votes were cast at The voting is sponsored by Allstate.

The Class of 2012 is the 15th class to be inducted into the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame and will bring the total membership to 96 Olympians, five Paralympians, 10 teams, four coaches, 10 veterans, 16 contributors and two Olive Branch award inductees.

The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Class of 2012 will be formally introduced and honored on July 12 during an awards ceremony at the Harris Theater in Chicago. The ceremony, hosted by Jimmy Roberts and Alex Flanagan, will air in a nationally-televised broadcast on NBC Sports Network on August 24 at 7 p.m. ET.

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC. All Rights Reserved